Family, Food, and Friends

As this Labor day weekend comes to a close I keep feeling like everything is surreal.  After my first week at my new job I have a three day weekend – going from one day weekends to a three day weekends sure can throw a person off.  I keep feeling like I am going to wake up tomorrow morning and realize that the new job was all a dream.  Unfortunately this feeling of living a surreal life happens more often than not and I always wonder if I am real…if my life is real…if this is all really happening.  However I am not feeling very introspective today so I am just going to ignore the feeling and remind myself that no matter what, right now it is real so I will just enjoy it.  If I happen to wake up days from now in an alternate reality maybe I will re-evaluate the whole surreal thing…IF.

I’m not sure what other people do for Labor Day, probably go on vacation and have fun with friends or family, but this weekend I stayed inside most of the time.  Obviously I got my tattoo Friday night, then I went to my bar Saturday night to show off the beautiful artwork and I was reminded once again how much like Cheers my bar has become to me.  I don’t even have to worry if anybody will be there because guess what…I know someone there no matter what!  And everybody DOES know my name.  It.  Is.  Awesome.  And so are the people.  Maybe it isn’t always a bundle of excitement but it’s MY bar and I love it.

Yesterday I literally spent the entire day inside working on either my cross-stitch (because I am ridiculously cool and do silly crafty stuff like that) or my friends birthday gift while watching movies.  Lots of movies.  We started with Stardust and, if you haven’t seen this, you should.  It will give you a new respect for Robert DeNero.  Battleship was second since I hadn’t seen it yet, which seriously made me want to play the game because it was one of my favorites as a kid; I mean, who doesn’t like fake blowing stuff up??  Nobody I know.  Actually blowing stuff up is way more fun but generally frowned upon.  Then we moved on to Transformers 3- who wants to guess why?!?  And then, the brilliant idea of Lord of the Rings…the extended editions.  I have only sat through all the LOTR movies one time, and it was on TV.  But my sister likes the movies a smidge more than I do and has all the lovely four hour versions of the movies.  I still couldn’t tell you anything that happens in the movies, but I CAN tell you that Gimli is my favorite.  I want him to be real.

I can’t believe I will actually be admitting all this to people because reading it makes me realize just how boring of a person I am.  It also makes me realize that once I have saved up more money and have my own place there will be few of these days.  Hopefully most will contain an abundance of friends and activities that leave me exhausted and ready to go back to work for the rest it will provide me.

Anyway – today, being the actual Day of Labor (or lack there of) we came to our parents house to enjoy a feast of home made pulled pork, chicken, brats, and rolls.  Add some friends, and a little Shiner (because we are from Texas, people) and you have yourself an afternoon.

Pulling the pork is the best part of making the food. Some of the pork accidentally falls into my mouth before it makes it to the bowl. It’s such a difficult job…

I know it probably seems like American’s use “holiday’s” as an excuse to eat lots of food, but it’s just what we do.  Food brings us together.  Food is fun to make.  Food makes us happy.  Plus there are always left-overs and who doesn’t love that??

Once we finished lunch and were in a food coma Shrek was put on (another movie, yay!).  Now, I haven’t seen Shrek in years and I was blown away at how old the technology looked.  I used to love that movie!  It looked so cool!  Sadly it no longer looks cool, just old.  I can’t believe I am this old…my aging needs to stop, two years ago.  Especially since I realized earlier today that, as I put it, “I have had Nutz for over ten years!”  Imagine being next to me in the car when those words came out of my mouth…you might be confused, huh?  Nutz is my stuffed animal.  My dog, to be exact.  I took him to college with me and when my guy friends would mess with him I would say, “Stop touching my Nutz!”  I honestly never did it on purpose, I’m just possessive and always called him “My Nutz.”  It became awesome and now I am glad I was so innocent as a child and didn’t realize how fun it would be in my old age.

I hope everyone’s weekend was exactly what they wanted.  I can’t believe it is already September but I am excited to see what this month will bring!

About izinspiredtowrite

I daydream constantly. I read everything. I fall upstairs. I trip on flat surfaces. I ask lots of questions. I believe in something great. I love. I live. I am.

Posted on September 3, 2012, in Life, Observations, Random, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a fun day with friends and family… and cross-stitch? Glad to know your week started bright and with smiles. Thats a lot of movies… and if you think that Shrek made you feel old, don’t even look at today’s hyper-realistic games – those actually trigger PTSD in war vets (you’ll feel like a dinosaur).

    That picture has two of the most beautiful things in the entire world: 1. Meat; 2. Booze in the back (my favorite things about this existence… and astronomy… and Lambos… and Barbecues). Sorry, you are cute even with apron and gloves… but the meat is gorgeous.

    Now I remember what made me like Texas. Meat loving people and warm feeling people.

    • Umm…you do remember that I am a dork, right? I play those games…and I don’t feel like a dinosaur. Watching Shrek made me feel old because I could swear that it was better. I didn’t play video games much untill recently so I never really saw what they looked like before. If someone hadn’t stolen my 360 I would probably be playing COD quite a lot….like the true geek I am. I miss that thing 😦

      • WTF? I don’t get it why people rob other people’s video games… It’s just mental. 😦 Put yourself on my shoes; I’ve been playing since the Mario/Mega-Man days, got Doom, Quake, Half-Life… now Crysis and Battlefiled 3. You play COD multi and/or single player? Haven’t played on-line since Quake days (had to stop when the idiots took over and destroyed the fun). Wait another year to get a new Xbox. The 720 should be out by then and you should have saved cash after settle down on the new job and new place.

        The more I get to know you, the cooler you get. I didn’t thought you played, especially COD. 🙂

      • Well, it was HIM. So…less stole as kept, but still. I bought it! I play single player…I’m not good enough to play with others.

      • It’s official now… I don’t know HIM, but I dislike HIM. This is just WRONG!!!! Don’t worry, the universe has a way of balancing things out. I find single-player games to be more interesting now, particularly if it has good story writing.

Leave a Reply

The Great American Landscape

A Photographer's Journey Honoring the Spirit and Light of America's Great Lands

Blessed with a Star on the Forehead

As I navigate through this life ...

HUSBAND AND WIFE REVIEWS

reviews, unboxing, first impressions, and more

She loves it

She Loves It. You Love It.

♥THE HAUTE FRUGALISTA♥

Travel, Beauty & Style Expert

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Yin Mom, Yang Mom

You Are Not Alone

