Disappear. Destroy.

Sometimes I want to run away.  In the middle of the night.  Under the cloak of darkness.  Because sometimes it hurts too much.  It hurts too much and I want so desperately to reach out and tell someone but I think only of how much of a burden I have been in my life and how little I want to continue being a burden.  Most often I don’t even see what’s going on until it’s too late and I…I hurt myself…in one form or fashion, in the end.  My mind moves at the speed of light and my anxiety and depression shoulder devils, whisper sweet nothings into my ears that befuddle my already confusing thoughts.

The worst part is that I should know how to do this by now.  I should know how to calm myself down at 3:45 a.m. when I wake up crying with a hollow feeling in the pit of my stomach that makes me curl up into a ball for fear my insides will tear open from the pain that may or may not even exist inside me.  I should be able to dispel these thoughts and feelings and the raw, nagging insistence that I will never amount to anything because I have nothing to show for my life thus far and probably never will.  I should.  Should, should, should.  There are a lot of things I should do and people will tell me to “just do them.”  People will tell me that my thoughts are silly and I should just get over them.  And I will.  I promise.  I always do.  But now, right now, I don’t feel that way.  I KNOW I will get past this, but I don’t FEEL like I will.  Even that is exhausting – battling with yourself over what you know versus what you feel.  Especially when what you think you know isn’t always right.

My thoughts are filled with lies but I’m not always sure what is a lie and what is a truth. I tell myself lies all the time:  you’re not good enough, you’re not smart enough, you’re not pretty enough, you’re not witty enough, you’re not funny enough, you’re not enough.  A freight train rumbles through my brain, clattering around, billowing out steam, ripping through sanity and rationality, leaving behind chaos and destruction, getting louder and louder as the thoughts become worse and worse until……silence.  Nothing.  No more noise, no more anything.  A void so vast and incomprehensible suddenly appears blanketed with dark, glistening, beautiful lies.  So beautiful and enticing that the darkness almost becomes comforting.  I enshroud myself in words that are not true.  Hiding behind the lies that comfort me.  But they don’t really feel like lies.  They feel like truths.  And maybe, deep down, on a good day, I KNOW they are lies; I just have trouble sifting through those to get through to what is true.

I’m old enough now, I should have this figured out.  I shouldn’t have to talk about it anymore.  I should be better.  Until then, I’ll be just fine. F.I.N.E.

Also, I’m going to go stand outside.  Where I will be outstanding.  Because that joke is stupid and makes me laugh and feel a twinge better.

May your day start with stupid jokes, be filled with unexpected surprises, and end with tacos.  All the tacos.  Happy Tuesday, ya’ll.

About izinspiredtowrite

I daydream constantly. I read everything. I fall upstairs. I trip on flat surfaces. I ask lots of questions. I believe in something great. I love. I live. I am.

Posted on June 6, 2017, in Life, pain, Random, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Great American Landscape

A Photographer's Journey Honoring the Spirit and Light of America's Great Lands

Blessed with a Star on the Forehead

As I navigate through this life ...

HUSBAND AND WIFE REVIEWS

reviews, unboxing, first impressions, and more

She loves it

She Loves It. You Love It.

♥THE HAUTE FRUGALISTA♥

Travel, Beauty & Style Expert

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Yin Mom, Yang Mom

You Are Not Alone

